Independent, reader-firstAUD prices, GST shownEvery price datedAUNZUK
Home › Design offices › Revit vs Archicad
vs

Revit vs Archicad: which one fits your office?

The short answer: choose Revit when the people you work with want RVT models, or you model structure and services as well as architecture. Choose Archicad if your studio runs on Macs or you want a cheaper seat: $3,960 a year against $4,802, both inc GST.

Quick answer

Choose Revit ifYou swap Revit models with others

  • Your head consultant or client wants native RVT files
  • You model structure or MEP too: those toolsets come in the one licence
  • Some staff only need it now and then: Flex charges by the day used
See Revit →Affiliate link: Autodesk pays us 9% of a new subscription

Choose Archicad ifYou work on a Mac, or watch the cost per seat

  • Your studio runs on Macs: Archicad is native on Apple silicon
  • You want the lower seat price: Studio is $3,960 a year inc GST
  • You'd like to lock the price in with a 3-year term
Start the Archicad trial →30 days, no card · no commission

How we make money: the Revit button is an affiliate link. Autodesk pays us 9% of a new subscription, at no cost to you. Graphisoft pays us nothing. The verdict comes from the published prices and vendor-stated facts below, and every one has a source link. Disclosure.

Head to head

Category by category

Who comes out ahead on each thing an office weighs up. “Depends” means the answer turns on how you work.

Price per seatArchicadStudio $3,960 against Revit $4,802 a year inc GST: about $842 less per seat, or $4,208 less for five seats.
Cheapest way inRevit LT$891 a year inc GST, but Autodesk rates its collaboration and documentation tools as limited next to full Revit.
Native on MacArchicadNative on Apple silicon. Revit is Windows only; on a Mac Autodesk lists Parallels.
Swapping RVT modelsRevitRVT is Revit's own format. If a client or consultant delivers in RVT, Revit works in it natively.
IFC (open BIM)TieBoth import and export IFC; Archicad also lists IFC4.3.
Structure and MEPDependsRevit includes architecture, structure, MEP and construction toolsets. Archicad's MEP Designer comes with Collaborate ($4,631) and Max, not Studio.
TeamworkTieRevit worksharing syncs to one central model. Archicad Studio works on your own server; Collaborate adds cloud teamwork.
Occasional usersRevitFlex: 10 tokens per day used. Archicad's shortest term is a month, $550 inc GST.
Price certaintyArchicadA 3-year term locks the price, paid yearly. Autodesk's page doesn't offer a price lock that we could confirm.
Free trialArchicad30 days, no card. Autodesk offers a Revit trial, but its Australian page doesn't state the length.
Side by side

Every fact, with its source

One seat, entry plan, AUD with GST added where the vendor quotes ex GST. A tick only where the vendor's own page confirms it; “?” means not confirmed yet.

Checked
21 Oct 2026
RevitAutodesk · BIMTry freeArchicadGraphisoft · BIMVisit site
Price per user
Per yearAUD inc GST unless marked$4,802/yr1 user, 1-year term source$3,960/yrStudio, 1 seat, 1-year term source
Billed monthly instead$605/mo$550/mo
Prices include GST?No, GST addedNo, GST added
Other plans (per year)Revit LT $891
Also in the AEC Collection (Revit, AutoCAD, Civil 3D and more)
Collaborate $4,631
Max $8,690
Fit
Runs onWindows 11 only sourceWindows and Mac source
Native on MacNo. Autodesk lists Parallels Desktop (a Windows virtual machine) for Mac sourceYes, native on Apple silicon source
IFC (open BIM) import/exportYes, import and export (IFC4, IFC2x3) sourceYes (IFC2x3, IFC4, IFC4.3) source
Opens and saves DWGLinks and exports DWG (its own file is RVT) sourceOpens and saves DWG/DXF source
Free trialYes, length not stated on the AU page source30 days, no card source
Buy outright (perpetual licence)Not confirmed yetNot confirmed yet
Working as a teamWorksharing: the team syncs to one central model sourceStudio: teamwork on your own server (BIMcloud Basic). Collaborate adds cloud teamwork (BIMcloud SaaS) source
Structure and MEP modellingArchitecture, structure, MEP and construction toolsets in one licence sourceMEP Designer is included in Collaborate and Max, not Studio source
Cheaper, lighter editionRevit LT, A$810/yr ex GST: Autodesk rates its collaboration and documentation as limited sourceNo lighter edition; Studio is the entry plan source
Pay only for the days you use itFlex: 10 tokens per day used; tokens from A$144 for 33 sourceNo. The shortest term is one month, A$500 + tax source
Lock the price inNot confirmed yet3-year term locks the price, paid yearly source
Honesty
Do we earn from this link?Yes: 9% of a new subscription (not renewals), via Commission FactoryNo. Plain link, no commission
Try Revit freeVisit Graphisoft
✓ confirmed on the vendor's own page? not confirmed yet (not the same as missing)* price as shown, GST not statedOrder: as in the guide, never by commission
Costs

What a team pays per year

List price for the entry plan, before any reseller discount. Where one is at least 10% cheaper, it is marked.

Per year1 seat3 seats5 seats10 seats
Revit1 user, 1-year term$4,802$14,405$24,008$48,015
ArchicadStudio, 1 seat, 1-year term$3,960$11,880$19,800$39,600

List price × seats, before any volume or reseller discount (none are published). AUD prices include GST. * GST not stated.

Verdict

Decide on file exchange first, then platform, then price

Start with the people you swap models with. If your main clients or head consultants run Revit and expect RVT back, Revit saves you a conversion step on every job, and that matters more than the price gap. If they're happy with IFC, or you lead the design yourself, the choice opens up.

Then look at your machines. A studio on Macs will find Archicad the natural fit: Revit needs Windows, and running it through Parallels adds a cost and a layer between you and the model. Last comes price: Archicad Studio saves about $842 a seat each year, and its 3-year term fixes the price. If you need MEP inside the same licence, compare full Revit with Archicad Collaborate rather than Studio.

Whichever way you lean, open a real project in both trials: a consultant's IFC, your title block and a 10-sheet set. Our design-office trial checklist lists the six tests.

The Revit button is an affiliate link. Weighing up Vectorworks, AutoCAD, BricsCAD or SketchUp as well? See the six-tool comparison.

FAQ

Offices ask

Is Archicad cheaper than Revit?

Per seat, yes. Archicad Studio is $3,960 a year and Revit is $4,802 a year, both including GST, so Archicad costs about $842 less per seat each year, or about $4,208 less for five seats. Revit LT is cheaper again at $891 a year including GST, but Autodesk rates its collaboration and documentation tools as limited.

Can Revit and Archicad work on the same project?

Through IFC, the open BIM format. Revit imports and exports IFC4 and IFC2x3, and Archicad does IFC2x3, IFC4 and IFC4.3. Ask your consultant for a sample model and test the exchange in both free trials before you commit.

Does Revit run on a Mac?

Not natively. Autodesk lists Windows 11 and, for Mac, Parallels Desktop, which runs Windows in a virtual machine. Archicad runs natively on Mac, including Apple silicon.

Can I pay for Revit only on the days I use it?

Yes, with Autodesk Flex: Revit uses 10 tokens for each day you use it, and tokens start at A$144 for 33 on Autodesk's Australian page. Archicad has no pay-per-day option; its shortest term is one month at $550 including GST.

About the author

Josh founded Studio to Site to give Australian trades, builders and design offices a straight answer on the software they run on: prices in AUD with GST shown, checked at the source and dated, and anything unconfirmed clearly marked. Most reviews online are written for American firms or by the software companies themselves. This one is written for Australian businesses.

More about us · How we test · Last checked 20 October 2026