Independent, reader-firstAUD prices, GST shownEvery price datedAUNZUK
Home › Design offices › Bluebeam vs Drawboard
vs

Bluebeam vs Drawboard: which PDF markup tool fits your team?

The short answer: Bluebeam Revu is the Windows desktop workhorse, with quantity takeoff and live Studio sessions. Drawboard Projects is pen-first on iPad, Windows and the web, made in Melbourne. At entry level they cost about the same: $451 against about A$425 a year per user.

Quick answer

Choose Bluebeam Revu ifYour team marks up at a desk, on Windows

  • Your people work on Windows PCs with big screens
  • You need takeoff: counts and volume come with Core ($550 a year)
  • Your builders and consultants already run Studio sessions
Start the Bluebeam trial →14 days on the Max plan · no commission

Choose Drawboard Projects ifYour team marks up with a pen, anywhere

  • Your people review drawings on iPads, or on Macs through the web app
  • You want revision overlay and issue tracking on the entry plan
  • You'd like an Australian-made tool: Drawboard is from Melbourne
See Drawboard's plans →30-day trial · no commission

How we make money: we don't, on this page. Neither Bluebeam nor Drawboard pays us, so both get plain links. Disclosure.

Head to head

Category by category

Who comes out ahead on each thing a team weighs up. “Depends” means the answer turns on how you work.

Entry priceAbout evenBluebeam Basics $451 a year inc GST. Drawboard Team US$270, about A$425 with GST at the 20 Oct 2026 rate.
Priced in AUDBluebeamBluebeam's Australian prices include tax. Drawboard lists US dollars, so your bill moves with the exchange rate.
Windows desktopBluebeamRevu is a full Windows desktop app. Drawboard runs on Windows too, built around pen and touch.
iPadDrawboardDrawboard's iOS app is built for iPad. Revu for iPad ended in 2025; Bluebeam's iOS app joins Studio sessions.
MacTieNeither has a native Mac app for these products. Both have web apps.
Measurement and takeoffBluebeamLength and area in Basics; counts and volume in Core. Drawboard has calibrated length and area; takeoff isn't stated.
Revision overlayDrawboardIncluded on Drawboard's Team plan. Bluebeam's overlay and batch compare start at Core.
Live shared markupTieBluebeam Studio sessions (Basics can join, Core and up can start) against Drawboard's real-time markup sync.
Issues and tasksDrawboardTasks and issues pinned to drawings, with CSV export. Not confirmed on Bluebeam's pricing page.
Free trialDrawboard30 days for Drawboard Projects, against 14 days for Bluebeam (on the Max plan).
Side by side

Every fact, with its source

One user, entry plan. A tick only where the vendor's own page confirms it; “?” means not confirmed yet.

Checked
21 Oct 2026
Bluebeam RevuBluebeam (Nemetschek) · PDF markupVisit siteDrawboard ProjectsDrawboard Pty Ltd · PDF markupVisit site
Price per user
Per yearAUD inc GST unless marked$451/yrBasics, 1 user, billed annually sourceUS$270/yr≈ A$425Team (up to 25 users), billed yearly source
Billed monthly instead–US$29/mo≈ A$45.68
Prices include GST?Yes, inc GSTUSD only, GST not stated
Other plans (per year)Core $550
Complete $737
Max $979
Growth US$370
Fit
Runs onRevu on Windows; web and mobile apps. No native Mac sourceWindows, iOS and web; Mac via web app source
iPad or tablet appBluebeam iOS app (join Studio); Revu for iPad ended 2025 sourceiOS app from App Store, built for iPad source
Measure and quantity takeoff to scaleBasic length/area in Basics; counts, volume in Core sourceCalibrated length and area; takeoff not stated source
Overlay or compare drawing revisionsOverlay and batch compare in Core; not in Basics sourceOverlay two drawings or revisions source
Live shared markup sessionsStudio: Basics can join, Core and up can start sourceReal-time markup syncing source
Free trial14 days, on the Max plan source30 days source
Issues and tasks on drawingsNot confirmed on the pricing page sourceTasks and issues pinned to drawings, CSV export source
Who makes itBluebeam, part of the Nemetschek Group sourceDrawboard, a Melbourne company (since 2011) source
Honesty
Do we earn from this link?No. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commission
Visit Bluebeam (Nemetschek)Visit Drawboard Pty Ltd
✓ confirmed on the vendor's own page? not confirmed yet (not the same as missing)* price as shown, GST not stated≈ A$ = converted at the RBA rate of 20 Oct 2026, GST added; your bank's rate will differOrder: as in the guide, never by commission
Costs

What a team pays per year

List price for the entry plan. Drawboard's US-dollar price is shown as listed, with an AUD estimate under it.

Per year1 seat3 seats5 seats10 seats
Bluebeam RevuBasics, 1 user, billed annually$451$1,353$2,255$4,510
Drawboard ProjectsTeam (up to 25 users), billed yearlyUS$270≈ A$425US$810≈ A$1,276US$1,350≈ A$2,126US$2,700≈ A$4,253

List price × seats, before any volume or reseller discount (none are published). AUD prices include GST. Foreign-currency prices are shown as listed, with ≈ an AUD estimate at the RBA rate of 20 Oct 2026 plus GST. * GST not stated.

Verdict

Pick the device first

The price won't decide this one: at entry level the two are only about $26 a user apart. What decides it is where your team marks up. If drawings are reviewed at a desk on Windows, and quantities matter, Bluebeam Revu is the stronger tool, and Studio sessions are what many builders and consultants already use. Budget for Core if you need takeoff or revision compare.

If your team reviews on iPads with a pen, works partly on Macs, or wants issues tracked on the drawing itself, Drawboard Projects fits better, and its Team plan already includes overlay. Remember that its price is in US dollars.

Run both trials on the same live drawing set: calibrate a sheet, measure a room, overlay two revisions and invite a consultant into a shared session.

Plain links, no commission. Also weighing up Adobe Acrobat? See the PDF markup comparison.

FAQ

Teams ask

Is Drawboard cheaper than Bluebeam?

At entry level they cost about the same. Bluebeam Basics is $451 a year per user including GST. Drawboard Projects Team is US$270 a year per user, about A$425 with GST at the RBA rate of 20 Oct 2026. Drawboard's Team plan includes revision overlay, which on Bluebeam needs Core at $550 a year.

Does Bluebeam Revu work on a Mac or iPad?

Revu runs on Windows. Bluebeam lists web and mobile apps but no native Mac version, and Revu for iPad ended in 2025; the iOS app now joins Studio sessions. Drawboard Projects runs on Windows, iOS and the web, and its iOS app is built for iPad.

Is Drawboard an Australian company?

Yes. Drawboard describes itself as a PDF and collaboration company from Melbourne, working since 2011. Its prices are listed in US dollars, so the Australian cost moves with the exchange rate.

About the author

Josh founded Studio to Site to give Australian trades, builders and design offices a straight answer on the software they run on: prices in AUD with GST shown, checked at the source and dated, and anything unconfirmed clearly marked. Most reviews online are written for American firms or by the software companies themselves. This one is written for Australian businesses.

More about us · How we test · Last checked 20 October 2026